6 Rhode Island communities vote to ban cannabis sales while 25 approve it

10 WJAR has the details

Numerous cities and towns voted to approve or ban the sale of recreational cannabis on Tuesday’s ballot.

Gov. Dan McKee signed legislation in May to legalize recreational marijuana in Rhode Island.

Six municipalities voted to ban the sale of recreational cannabis, according to initial state results.

Those municipalities were:

  • Barrington.
  • East Greenwich.
  • Jamestown.
  • Little Compton.
  • Scituate.
  • Smithfield.

On the other side, state results show 25 cities and towns voted to approve recreational marijuana sales.

Those included:

  • Bristol.
  • Burrillville.
  • Charlestown.
  • Coventry.
  • Cumberland.
  • East Providence.
  • Glocester.
  • Hopkinton.
  • Johnston.
  • Lincoln.
  • Middletown.
  • Narragansett.
  • Newport.
  • New Shoreham.
  • North Kingstown.
  • North Providence.
  • North Smithfield.
  • Richmond.
  • South Kingstown.
  • Tiverton.
  • Warren.
  • Westerly.
  • West Greenwich.
  • West Warwick.
  • Woonsocket.

The legislation passed in May sets up a system for regulation and taxation.


Primary Sponsor

Karma Koala Podcast

Top Marijuana Blog