Australia: Publishing Outfit Cannabiz Launches Awards Program

Their PR announces

Today sees the launch of the inaugural Cannabiz Awards for Australia and New Zealand 2023.

The 20 awards will be judged by a panel of 36 jurors featuring some of the most senior figures in the industry.

Cannabiz co-founder and chief growth officer Martin Lane said: “Since Cannabiz launched in July 2020, it has always been our aim to highlight the legal cannabis industry’s success stories and opportunities for growth, and the awards are the latest step on that journey.

“Positioned to be the most prestigious in the industry, we’ve made them deliberately hard to win, with each category judged by a minimum of four jurors scoring independently against strict criteria.

“So if you or your employer take home a gong, you’ll have the satisfaction of knowing you really earned it.”

From the world of politics, jurors include Greens NSW MP Cate Faehrmann, Legalise Cannabis MPs Dr Brian Walker and Rachel Payne and Reason Party leader Fiona Patten.

Healthcare practitioners are represented by Society of Cannabis Clinicians Australian Chapter president Dr Joel Wren, GP Dr Matty Moore, physician Dr Karen Hitchcock and ANZ College of Cannabinoid Practitioners president Dr Orit Holtzman.

Joining the panel from overseas are cannabis entrepreneur Bruce Linton, MJBizDaily international editor Matt Lamers, Prohibition Partners co-founder and CEO Stephen Murphy and lawyer and host of The Cannabis Conversation podcast Anuj Desai.

Meanwhile, researchers include Lambert Initiative academic director Professor Iain McGregor, Southern Cross University clinical research fellow Dr Janet Schloss and Swinburne University of Technology research fellow Dr Thomas Arkell.

All three of Australia’s medicinal cannabis trade associations are represented, with MCIA chair Peter Crock, AMCA general manager Gail Wiseman and ETAA chair Guy Headley joining NZ Medicinal Cannabis Council executive director Sally King on the jury.

Industry consultants include former FreshLeaf Analytics MD Cassandra Hunt, Penington Institute global partnerships and engagement advisor Rhys Cohen, former Entoura GM Clare Barker, ex-Cannatrek head of research and development Emily Rigby and Holmes/Wilson director Patty Holmes.

Rounding out the jury are honahlee co-founder Tom Brown, award-winning documentary filmmaker and journalist Helen Kapalos, Standard Botanic founder and CEO Adam Benjamin, secretary of the Australian Industrial Hemp Alliance Charles Kovess, Bod Science COO Craig Weller, Astrid Dispensary founder and CEO Lisa Nguyen, Omega Assets director and Health House International founder Paul Mavor, OnTracka founder and product CEO Chad Walkaden, BioTechNZ executive director Zahra Champion, Tasmanian Botanics CEO Dan Howard, Pharmalytics MD Dr Russell Kinghorn and Initiative chief strategy and product officer Chris Colter.

Sponsored by Tasmanian Botanics, Bod Science, Pharmalytics and Standard Botanic, the awards are split into five categories – companies, individuals, industry leadership, healthcare and product.

Learn more at

Cannabiz launches awards program to celebrate an industry changing lives

Primary Sponsor

Get Connected

Karma Koala Podcast

Top Marijuana Blog