The permit awards come nearly three years after state lawmakers approved a bill sponsored by Sen. Fred Mills, a pharmacist, and hashed out the regulatory framework for dispensing medical marijuana to treat certain qualifying conditions: cancer, HIV, AIDS, cachexia/wasting syndrome, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, and seizure disorders such as epilepsy, spasticity and Crohn’s disease.

Doctors must get permission from the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners to recommend the drug for patients.

Nine Health Regions

One pharmacy will operate in each of the nine regions of the state established by the Louisiana Department of Health.

Louisiana law prohibits marijuana from being sold in any form that can be smoked. The forms sold at state-permitted pharmacies will include pills, topical creams and oils and can only be dispensed to patients with a doctor’s recommendation form.

The nine regions and their associated parishes are:

  • Acadian: Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Mary and Vermilion parishes.
  • Capitol: Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana parishes.
  • Central: Avoyelles, Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, LaSalle, Rapides, Vernon and Winn parishes.
  • Metropolitan: Jefferson, Orleans, Plaquemines and St. Bernard parishes
  • Northeast: Caldwell, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas, Union and West Carroll parishes.
  • Northwest: Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine and Webster parishes.
  • Southeast: Livingston, St. Helena, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa and Washington parishes.
  • Southwest: Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron and Jefferson Davis parishes.
  • Teche: Assumption, Lafourche, St. Charles, St. James, St. John, St. Mary and Terrebonne parishes.

The nine companies and the owners as listed on permit applications submitted to the Louisiana Pharmacy Board: Link to find out about each dispensary here