GEORGIA

Georgia Medical Marijuana Expansion Bill Signed Into Law

http://www.ajc.com/news/state–regional-govt–politics/georgia-medical-marijuana-expansion-bill-signed-into-law/Iz3WHluWq8OZ7rdffKUZPM/

Gov. Nathan Deal signed into law Tuesday a measure that expands the state’s medical marijuana program.

Senate Bill 16 makes six more conditions eligible for treatment with a limited form of cannabis oil allowed in Georgia: AIDS, Alzheimer’s disease, autism, epidermolysis bullosa, peripheral neuropathy and Tourette’s syndrome. It also allows patients in hospice care to possess the oil.

In 2015, patients and, in the case of children, families registered with the state, were granted the ability to possess up to 20 ounces of cannabis oil to treat severe forms of eight specific illnesses, including cancer, Parkinson’s disease and epilepsy.

SB 16  http://legislativenavigator.myajc.com/#bills/SB/16

 

NEW JERSEY

New Jersey Lawmakers Await Next Governor Before Moving to Legalize Marijuana

Chris Christie, the deeply unpopular outgoing governor, is a vehement marijuana opponent but the political winds are shifting.

https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/293982

Dismissing a recent lengthy and passionate argument by Gov. Chris Christie against legalized marijuana, New Jersey lawmakers plan to push ahead with a bill that would make recreational marijuana legal in the Garden State.

Meanwhile, the issue could become the central debate in this year’s race to see who will replace Christie as governor.

 

TEXAS

Texas House to hear marijuana penalty reduction bill

http://txcann.com/texas-house-hear-marijuana-penalty-reduction-bill/

Legislators in the Texas House of Representatives will hear a bill to make possession of an ounce or less of marijuana a $250 civil fine on Thursday.

House Bill 81, introduced by Rep. Joe Moody (D-El Paso) and co-authored by Rep. Jason Isaac (R-Dripping Springs), would have police cite a person in possession and confiscate any cannabis. There would be no arrest. That person would then either have to pay a $250 fine or perform community service, but will not have a criminal record. Those cited a second and third time will have to take drug education classes, and any citation after that could result in a Class C Misdemeanor charge.

House Bill 81 http://www.legis.state.tx.us/BillLookup/History.aspx?LegSess=85R&Bill=HB81

VERMONT

Vermont Cannabis Legalization Bills Get Last Minute Approval